2017

Oct
24

Bitcoin or biotech: What to invest in

Learning stock trading on the NYSE, Nasdaq, Amex

bitcoin

A columnist for The Motley Fool Kate space about, how to choose between two types of risky assets. Bitcoin became the subject of perhaps the largest amount of controversy in the investment world. His supporters believe, what cryptocurrency could destroy the financial industry, and point to the staggering rise of bitcoin in recent years. Critics emphasize the volatility of bitcoin (Bitcoin) and related risks.

Exactly such arguments, as for, and against, sound in relation to other type of assets: shares of biotechnology companies. Some investors see them as a great way to earn a lot of money on innovative products, while others are afraid of the high level of risk and volatility.

Which of these two prospective, but potentially risky assets will be investment — more sensible choice of the investor?

The risks and volatility

To understand, what caused the volatility of bitcoin and what are the most serious risks, associated with the cryptocurrency, first, you need to understand, what is bitcoin and how does it work. If you have not yet done so, features a section on the website the Insider.

There are three main risk, associated with investments in bitcoin.

  1. Authorities may prohibit the use of uncontrolled by digital currencies. Bitcoin has experienced a serious drop after the ban ICO and closing kryptomere in China. If the authorities continue to tighten the screws or Japan, The US and South Korea, the three largest trading market bitcoin, impose any restrictions, prices will fall.
  2. Other cryptocurrencies bitcoin take market share. The air now occupies second place in terms of capitalization, and it does have some advantages compared to bitcoin, which prove attractive to investors.
  3. The company and the stock exchange, focused on the bitcoin, can be vulnerable to cyber attacks. Two such attacks in the past led to falling prices for bitcoin and contributed to the increase in volatility.

Individual biotech stocks also face significant risk and volatility. A key risk relates to concerns about the safety of their drugs. For example, shares of Intercept Pharmaceuticals (NASDAQ: ICPT) recently fell after, as the Management on sanitary inspection behind quality of foodstuff and medicines of the USA (FDA) The FDA warned about the risks, associated with its drug Ocaliva of liver disease. In the case of Intercept, Ocaliva already been approved by the FDA. However, many biotech companies are faced with the fact, what safety problems or lack of effectiveness of drug, discovered during clinical trials, do not allow them to bring products to market.

In addition, there's always a probability, what other company will release a competing product and take away market share. Even the threat of this can cause damage to the shares of biotech company.

The problem may become too high and the effectiveness of the drug. For example, during the period from mid 2015 to mid 2017 the shares of Gilead Sciences fell more than 40%. This was mainly due to the reduction in sales of the drug against hepatitis C: the medication managed to cure so many patients, the market, Gilead has declined significantly.

So, what's riskier, bitcoin or biotechnology? The action of individual biotech companies, apparently, bearing more risk, than bitcoin. At the same time, you can buy shares of exchange-traded Fund, focused on biotechnology. Usually such stocks are less volatile, than bitcoin, and carry less risk for the investor.

The dynamics of the stock

If we talk about the growth rate, between bitcoin and biotech shares little in common. The first bitcoin stock exchange appeared in 2010 year. If you bought bitcoins on $10 haven't sold them until now, now your condition would be equal to approximately 13,9 million dollars. In other words, the average annual profit would exceed 650%. Hard to find stock in a biotechnology company, who for same time have risen in price at least 10 times.

However, most investors wouldn't buy bitcoin shortly after its occurrence. What's happening lately? Here's how they look in 2017 year the dynamics of the NYSE Bitcoin Index, exchange-traded Fund SPDR S&P Biotech ETF and stock one of the fastest growing companies Puma Biotechnology (NASDAQ: PBYI).

Bitcoin or biotech: What to invest in

 

Obviously, what is bitcoin anyway going up faster, than stock biotech companies. However, it should be taken into account, this profitability is tied to high volatility.

What to choose

Investors make decisions, given the balance of risk and return. Comparing the two asset, they should determine, which one will provide the best profit potential given the adopted risk. Until now, bitcoin has demonstrated the best risk-return ratio, than stock biotech companies. But I will continue to do it? There is no certainty.

Do not expect, in the future bitcoin will generate the same annual income, as in the past. On the other hand, the level of risk can be reduced, as digital currencies will become more prevalent. Possible, keep a small part of the investment in bitcoins is a good move. However, it is understood, that this is pure speculation.

If you are interested in big profits, worth buying the shares of biotech companies. Achievements, that make a biotech company, incredible. Possible treatment of serious diseases is now more, than ever.

Buying shares in a biotech exchange-traded Fund is a good way to capitalize on this, but with less risk and volatility, than when investing in individual stocks.

So what to choose? Possible, the best option is to invest a little in bitcoin, and biotechnology.

Prepared By Liza Dobkina

 

 

Stream of transactions Day Trading on NYSE NASDAQ

Comments

Group Vkontakte

Partners

Tag cloud

Menu:

2017

Окт
24

Биткоин или биотех: Во что инвестировать

Обучение торговле акциями на NYSE, Nasdaq, Amex

bitcoin

Колумнист The Motley Fool Кейт Спейс о том, как выбрать между двумя типами рискованных активов. Биткоин стал предметом едва ли не самого большого количества споров в инвестиционном мире. Его сторонники считают, что криптовалюта может разрушить финансовую отрасль, и указывают на ошеломляющий рост биткоина в последние годы. Критики подчеркивают волатильность биткоина (Bitcoin) и связанные с ним риски.

Точно такие аргументы, как за, так и против, звучат применительно к другому типу активов: акциям биотехнологических компаний. Некоторые инвесторы рассматривают их как отличный способ заработать много денег на инновационных продуктах, а другие боятся высокого уровня риска и волатильности.

Какой из этих двух перспективных, но потенциально опасных активов будет инвестиций — более разумным выбором инвестора?

Риски и волатильность

Чтобы понять, чем обусловлена волатильность биткоина и каковы наиболее серьезные риски, связанные с криптовалютой, вначале нужно разобраться, что такое биткоин и как он работает. Если вы еще не сделали этого, к вашим услугам раздел на сайте Инсайдера.

Существует три основных риска, связанных с вложениями в биткоин.

  1. Власти могут запретить использование неподконтрольных им цифровых валют. Биткоин пережил серьезное падение после запрета ICO и закрытия криптобирж в Китае. Если власти страны продолжат закручивать гайки или же Япония, США и Южная Корея, три крупнейших рынка торговли биткоином, введут какие-либо ограничения, цены упадут.
  2. Другие криптовалюты отнимают у биткоина долю рынка. Эфир занимает сейчас второе место по капитализации, и у него есть некоторые преимущества по сравнению с биткоином, которые оказаться привлекательными для инвесторов.
  3. Компании и биржи, ориентированные на биткоин, могут быть уязвимы для кибератак. Две атаки такого рода в прошлом приводили к падению цен на биткоин и способствовали росту волатильности.

Отдельные биотехнологические акции также сталкиваются со значительными рисками и волатильностью. Ключевой риск связан с опасениями относительно безопасности их препаратов. Например, акции Intercept Pharmaceuticals (NASDAQ: ICPT) недавно упали после того, как Управление по санитарному надзору за качеством пищевых продуктов и медикаментов США (FDA) FDA предупредило о рисках, связанных с его препаратом Ocaliva от болезни печени. В случае с Intercept, Ocaliva уже была одобрена FDA. Однако многие биотехнологические компании сталкиваются с тем, что проблемы с безопасностью или низкая эффективность препарата, обнаруженные во время клинических испытаний, не позволяют им вывести продукты на рынок.

Кроме того, всегда есть вероятность того, что другая фирма выпустит конкурирующий продукт и отнимет долю рынка. Даже угроза этого может нанести ущерб акциям биотехнологической компании.

Проблемой может стать и слишком высокая эффективность препарата. Например, за период с середины 2015-го по середину 2017 года акции Gilead Sciences упали более чем на 40%. Это произошло в основном из-за сокращения продаж препарата против против гепатита С: лекарству удалось вылечить так много пациентов, что рынок Gilead значительно сократился.

Итак, что рискованнее — биткоин или биотехнологии? Акции отдельных биотехнологических компаний, по-видимому, несут больше рисков, чем биткоин. В то же время, вы можете приобрести акции биржевого фонда, ориентированного на биотехнологии. Обычно такие акции менее волатильны, чем биткоин, и несут меньше рисков для инвестора.

Динамика акций

Если го­во­рить о тем­пах роста, между бит­ко­и­ном и био­тех­но­ло­ги­че­ски­ми ак­ци­я­ми мало об­ще­го. Пер­вая бит­ко­ин-бир­жа по­яви­лась в 2010 году. Если бы тогда вы ку­пи­ли бит­ко­и­нов на $10 и не про­да­ли их до сих пор, сей­час ваше со­сто­я­ние рав­ня­лось бы при­мер­но 13,9 млн дол­ла­ров. Иначе го­во­ря, сред­не­го­до­вая при­быль пре­вы­си­ла бы 650%. Труд­но найти акции био­тех­но­ло­ги­че­ской ком­па­нии, ко­то­рые за то же время по­до­ро­жа­ли хотя бы в 10 раз.

Од­на­ко боль­шин­ство ин­ве­сто­ров не стали бы по­ку­пать бит­ко­ин вско­ре после его по­яв­ле­ния. А что про­ис­хо­дит в по­след­нее время? Вот как вы­гля­дят в 2017 году ди­на­ми­ка ин­дек­са NYSE Bitcoin Index, бир­же­во­го фонда SPDR S&P Biotech ETF и акций одной из самых быст­ро­рас­ту­щих ком­па­ний Puma Biotechnology (NASDAQ: PBYI).

Биткоин или биотех: Во что инвестировать

 

Оче­вид­но, что бит­ко­ин в любом слу­чае до­ро­жа­ет быст­рее, чем акции био­тех­но­ло­ги­че­ских ком­па­ний. Од­на­ко стоит учесть, что эта при­быль­ность свя­за­на с вы­со­кой во­ла­тиль­но­стью.

Что выбрать

Ин­ве­сто­ры при­ни­ма­ют ре­ше­ния, учи­ты­вая со­от­но­ше­ние риска и до­ход­но­сти. Срав­ни­вая два ак­ти­ва, они долж­ны опре­де­лить, какой из них обес­пе­чит луч­ший по­тен­ци­ал при­бы­ли с уче­том при­ня­то­го риска. До сих пор бит­ко­ин де­мон­стри­ро­вал луч­шее со­от­но­ше­ние риска и до­ход­но­сти, чем акции био­тех­но­ло­ги­че­ских ком­па­ний. Но про­дол­жит­ся ли это? В этом нет ни­ка­кой уве­рен­но­сти.

Не стоит ожи­дать, что в бу­ду­щем бит­ко­ин будет при­но­сить такую же го­до­вую при­быль, как в про­шлом. С дру­гой сто­ро­ны, уро­вень риска может сни­жать­ся, по мере того как циф­ро­вые ва­лю­ты по­лу­чат боль­шее рас­про­стра­не­ние. Воз­мож­но, дер­жать неболь­шую часть вло­же­ний в бит­ко­и­нах — непло­хой ход. Од­на­ко стоит по­ни­мать, что это будет чисто спе­ку­ля­тив­ная игра.

Если вы за­ин­те­ре­со­ва­ны в боль­шой при­бы­ли, стоит по­ку­пать акции био­тех­но­ло­ги­че­ских ком­па­ний. До­сти­же­ния, ко­то­рые де­ла­ют мно­гие био­тех­но­ло­ги­че­ские ком­па­нии, неве­ро­ят­ны. Воз­мож­но­стей ле­че­ния се­рьез­ных за­бо­ле­ва­ний сей­час боль­ше, чем ко­гда-ли­бо.

По­куп­ка доли в био­тех­но­ло­ги­че­ском бир­же­вом фонде — хо­ро­ший спо­соб за­ра­бо­тать на этом, но с мень­шим риском и во­ла­тиль­но­стью, чем при вло­же­ни­ях в от­дель­ные акции.

Так что же вы­брать? Воз­мож­но, луч­ший ва­ри­ант — вло­жить­ся по­не­мно­гу и в бит­ко­ин, и в био­тех­но­ло­гии.

Под­го­то­ви­ла Лиза Доб­ки­на

 

 

Трансляция сделок Day Trading на NYSE NASDAQ

Комментарии

Группа Вконтакте

Партнеры

Облако тегов

Меню: